Artist: Sage Garver

Exhibition: BIO

Media: Installations, Displays

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Dennis W. Dutzi Gallery

Website: N/A

Instagram: N/A

This week, I had the pleasure of meeting Sage Garver who is a student at California State University, Long Beach and is finishing up her educational career in the BFA program. Sage Garver had a beautiful display that was molecular biology-related. I am studying Molecular Biology and seeing it being expressed through an installation was so interesting and amazing to me.

img_1302

As soon as you walk into the room, you are able to see that everything on the walls is white. The walls were covered in molecules such as cells, mitochondria, chromosomes and DNA. The focal point of the installation was definitely the colorful chandelier which she mentioned was the nucleus, and hanging from it were a few long and aesthetically pleasing gold chains. One small detail I noticed was the from the chains, a gold fork was hanging from them. Garver’s installation was very powerful and it was a really cool concept that impacted me.

 

Garver explained that her exhibition revolved around the illnesses she experienced throughout her lifetime. All the pieces represented her life ranging from the activities she had to do or the foods she was/wasn’t able to consume. When she was asked why all the pieces on the wall were white, she said it was her preference because she thought it would give the viewer a more censorial experience. The focal point was meant to give the viewer a more pleasant experience, however, people referred to it as the nucleus and the name fit so Garver referred to it as the nucleus as well.

I absolutely love the fact that this installation had to do with biology because I get a rush from seeing biology being applied in different ways. The moment I walked into the room I just knew that there were organelles, cells and molecules all over the walls and I loved it. I also really like the idea about how personal this exhibit was to her because she was basically showing us her body and a major life experience with one installment. At first I thought that the focal point would be her heart or her stomach because the chains could have passed as lungs or even her intestines–especially since there was a fork hanging from the chains, but a nucleus works too. All in all, it was a very beautiful and personal exhibition that I enjoyed a lot.

 

