Artist: Caryn Aasness

Exhibition: TO CALL IT CUTE IS TO MISUNDERSTAND

Media: Fabric

Gallery: Dr. Maxine Merlino Gallery

Instagram@levelyellowproblemchild

 

It took me a little while for me to figure out how to decode the hidden messages and to tell you the truth, sometimes I didn’t understand what it had to do with the question it was asking. But, I did think it was a very neat idea to have and showcase the fabric. I took sociology last semester and the professor encouraged us to challenge society’s norms and it helped me see the world differently. The fact that she uses her fabric as a literal metaphor is so impressive and I love how it makes you think about what she is trying to tell you through her artwork. It really engages the audience if you stare at it enough to decode the hidden messages, it was fun to read each hidden message that each piece held.

photo-nov-02-2-30-14-pm

 

 

 

